The Lagos State chapter of All Progressives Congress (APC) has inaugurated a committee to set the modalities and preparation of guidelines for the forthcoming local government elections.

The 15-member-committee is headed by the Lagos State Deputy Governor Dr. Obafemi Hamzat and the state secretary of the party, Lanre Ogunyemi as the scribe.

In his address before the inauguration, the state chairman, Hon. Tunde Balogun emphasised the importance of the party to swing into action with the statutory election notices publication by the Lagos State Independent Electoral Commission of the forthcoming Local Government elections in to the offices of Chairmen, Vice Chairmen and Councilors in the 20 Local Government Councils and 37 Local Council Development Areas of the state.

He reiterated that the announcement of the elections scheduled for 24th July has ignited political activities in the party with various aspirants canvassing for support.

He expressed the confidence of the party in the ability of the committee to do a thorough job that will further boost the democratic credentials of the party.

In his response, Hamzat assured the party of living up to expectations and ensuring that credible guidelines will be put in place to justify the confidence that leadership of the party reposed in the committee.

He also said the party will present the best candidates that will compliment the efforts of the state government in providing the dividends of democracy for the people.

Other members of the committee are the former deputy governor of the state, Dr. Idiat Oluranti Adebule, Mr. Ademola Sadiq – the state legal adviser, Hon. Olawale Oshun, Hon. Daramola Abayomi, Alh. Ganiyu Sadiq, Mr. Ademola Olisa, Mr. Fatai Lasisi, Mr. Adebiyi Kehinde, Mr. Olabode Olaniyan, Mr. S. A. Sekoni, Mr. Tunde Lawal and Mr. Gani Bello.

Sign up to get the latest gist and more from

Invalid email address