The 12 APC members-elect of Edo State House of Assembly not earlier inaugurated have taken oath of office at a parallel sitting somewhere in town and assumed legislative duties.

The 12 new members along with 5 others have impeached the Speaker Frank Okiye and his Deputy Roland Asoro who are PDP lawmakers and loyal to Governor Godwin Obaseki.


Consequently, Victor Edoror representing Esan Central State Constituency has emerged as the new Assembly Speaker at the parallel sitting by APC lawmakers loyal to former National Chairman, Adams Oshiomhole.

There has been heavy security presence since the early hours of the morning at the Edo State House of Assembly complex following reported moves by the APC lawmakers to hold the parallel plenary there.

Meanwhile, the Edo State Government on Thursday commenced renovation of the House of Assembly complex about two months after lawmakers relocated plenary to Government House when some staff contracted the Covid-19 infection.

Sign up to get the latest gist and more from

Invalid email address